12 Days and Counting!

Only 12 days until the Chicago Marathon!  And man!  I’ve needed that as a motivator to get out of bed and get my workouts in the past 2 days.  I am TIRED!  I had on my training schedule to do 8 miles yesterday.  The alarm went off at 5:00am and I was NOT feeling it!  So, I quickly recalculated and decided to switch out my 4 mile Tuesday run with my 8 mile Monday run. I reset the alarm for 6 and quickly fell back asleep in my nice, warm bed with Bisou snoring next to me.  The second time the alarm went off didn’t feel any better- but I dragged myself out of bed and started getting ready.  As I suspected, once I started going, I felt great!  In fact, my pace was better than I expected it to be just 2 days after a 20 miler. 🙂  In the end, I had a fantastic run yesterday morning and the weather was absolutely perfect.

I treated myself to an hour-long massage last night.  I tried a new place that I got a deal from Living Social- Active Body Needs on Hickman.  It was A-MAZ-ING. 🙂  The massage therapist was a PT for 7 years and regularly sees athletes.  I would not say it was the most relaxing massage I’ve ever gotten, she worked me a bit, but she also stretched out muscles and kneaded through knots that I have experienced before.  And she was extremely helpful- she wrote down some ointments and bandages I should try to heal my blisters and showed me some massaging exercises to do at home for my shin splints!  I was so impressed, I booked another appointment with her for November following my scheduled 22 miler!  Needless to say, I slept GREAT last night. 🙂

This morning was another hard morning to get myself out of bed.  Then… the thought snuck in my head only 12 more days to go until Chicago and I NEED to keep my rear in gear!  So, up out of my nice, warm bed I got and headed to the gym to do 8 miles in the pool.  My shins felt a little “creaky” last night, so I decided this close to Chicago, I better start back with every other day in the pool to make sure I’m in great shape for the marathon.  The workout went great and I was utterly exhausted by the time I left the gym.  Now, I kinda feel like jello, but in a good way.  I’m feeling faster and stronger in my pool workouts, that was a great realization to come across this morning!  Although, I quickly noticed that I undid everything the massage relaxed last night- my shoulders are especially tight now, although , the legs are still feeling great- I guess I can’t have it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

