“…And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.” Hebrews 12:1

I do not necessarily believe in irony, so when my dad and I got into the car to drive to the airport on Monday morning and the radio was playing a message from the apostle Paul and his many references to “running the race” well, I have to say, I am definitely inspired and pumped up about my trip and the upcoming Tucson Marathon (now only 4 days away 🙂 )!!

I decided to do some more research on my own this morning and these words from the last part of Hebrews 12:1 especially struck me as I am mentally preparing for the 26.2 mile run: “… And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.”

I also found this message based on 2 Timothy focusing on Running the Race of Faith- I printed it off and will spend my Saturday evening, pre-race, going over it so that I am inspired, prepared, and focused Sunday morning heading into “Marathon day.” http://tcpiii.tripod.com/running.htm

I arrived in Tucson Monday afternoon- I absolutely love love love it here!  It is GORGEOUS! I began my tapering schedule Tuesday morning and the view of the sun rising behind the mountains is breathtaking.  We drove the route yesterday afternoon and I snapped a few pictures to show you where I’ll be running:

Marathon Start (or somewhere near here)... We'll be shuttled to the starting line, which appears to be in the middle of nowhere, about 20 miles from Mt. Lemmon

 

There was SNOW yesterday in the Mountains where the race will start... hopefully that will be melted by Sunday 🙂

 

This is the entrance to the Biosphere area- we will loop this path for miles 10-13. There are definitely some "rolling hills" back here, they don't look too scary, and I'm sure at the halfway point, they'll feel worse than they actually are... Notice the cattle sign- we definitely saw som Texas Longhorns back in here yesterday, hopefully they stay off the route and keep to themselves!!

 

And... the FINISH! One more side note- nearing the finish, we will pass one of the BEST Mexican restaurants in the Tucson area- Mi Tierra. I will be smiling as I pass this landmark, knowing it means I am close to the finish and also knowing that I will be returning there with my aunt and uncle for post race margaritas and a celebratory meal- no worrying about calories Sunday 🙂
And I have to say how thankful I am for the support of my family- they saw me off with a new sign to motivate me and cheer me on from Iowa 🙂 I have it up in my room where I can see it... ahhh- warm fuzzies 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

