Treadmill Spit Patoon

That is my latest novel idea for an invention.  Treadmills need spit patoons.  What can I say, sometimes, I have phlegm when I run.  This past week has been no exception.  When you’re running outside, it’s no big deal.  If you have to spit, you spit.  Well, I do try to gauge which way the wind is blowing so that it doesn’t come flying back and land on me (ask me how I know that can happen 🙂 ).  But if you need to spit, you can.  This morning, I headed to the gym for my weekly speed drill.  I did my half mile warmup and about halfway through my first drill, I noticed phlegm had built up a little bit.  Being in the middle of the gym and being in doors… I had no options but to suffer through it.  This got me thinking… how come treadmills don’t come with a side spit patoon.  They sell everything else for runners… hydration belts, handheld water bottles.  belts just to hold things, a key pouch to slip on your shoe, ID tags, sweat bands, arm bands, iPod carriers… this list doesn’t even begin to touch all the amenities that are out there for runners.  What’s missing?  A place to spit while you’re running indoors.  You know, they could even be cute- pink or purple so that you don’t feel so crass and nasty about doing the deed indoors… anyways, I digress.

This morning was a new challenge for me and I have to say that it was the toughest speed drill I have ever tackled… and… I killed it!  I did… and I don’t really feel bad about posting about the success because in a way I’m still amazed that it *really* happened!  On my schedule this morning was 4x1600s with 400 recovery.  What that means is I ran 4- 1 mile increments at a 6:58 treadmill pace with a quarter of a mile rest in-between the 4 sets.  When I started out, I knew I could do the 1st one or 2 based on how the 1200s had felt the week before.  Beyond that, I was going to see how far I could push it.  I start in for the first one… and it was done.  I felt good- no wait, I felt kinda great!  I did walk for a tenth of a mile and then ramped up to a 9:30 pace for the rest of the recovery… 2nd set… felt just as good.  Now, I was thinking this was some type of fluke… or maybe it was because Morning Joe on MSNBC hadn’t gone to a commercial break in a *really* long time and the content was pretty interested this morning, keeping my mind off the drills… it wasn’t lost on me that unfortunately, bad news makes running easier.  The coverage of the soldier in Afghanistan who went on a shooting rage and what it means for the US was intriguing… I guess the same is true when it comes to personal news… I can run further and faster when I’m mulling over some pretty bad or heavy news…

Again, I digress.  I started up my 3rd drill- it started out good… but my breathing was definitely heavier… Morning Joe went to commercial break so I scanned the local channels only to find they were all on commercial too… crap.  I had nothing to keep me preoccupied… I started translating the mileage count to how many laps around the track that would be to mark my progress… finally, I was close to end… although, on this round, I did punch the “slowing down” button at about .94 mile.  My breathing was labored and walking it out during the recovery felt fantastic.  Ok… 1 more to go.  At this point, I didn’t know if I had another 1600 in me… I set out.  My breathing was heavy from the start.  The image of me to others at the gym was not lost on me and I’m sure I was *quite* the site, huffing and puffing, red-faced, look of shear panic/exhaustion/pissed off screaming across my face… I made it 1 lap… 2 laps… I was halfway done- I could do at *least* 1 more lap… 1 more lap down and I started cheering for myself in my head- I was so gonna do this!  1 more lap to go!  I was breathing *really* hard by this point, but I finished!  4x1600s at a pace I couldn’t run at for a half mile just a few years ago- again, I am unapologetically ecstatic about this morning’s work out!

I finished up with a  round of strength training and overall felt good!  No aches, no pains in my knee… I got in my car to drive home, shut off my radio and cleared my head for some 1 on 1 time with God- thanking Him for the endurance to accomplish this, for my health, and for my ability to run…

“I can do all things through Him… who gives me strength.” -Philippians 4:13

2 thoughts on “Treadmill Spit Patoon

  1. Awesome workout! I love those days. That pace is awesome. I have been running for a little less than two years, and my 1600 intervals on the track are around 7:40 pace. But, it is amazing to look back and realize I couldn’t even run 1 mile at 10 minute pace when I started. What training plan are you following (if you are following one)?

    Like

Leave a Reply

