Stare down with myself in the mirror

This morning was a battle with myself just to get me out the door for my run.  After yesterday’s spin class and feeling renewed energy in my legs, I was pumped all day for the next 2 runs- I had 10 miles this morning and 12 miles tomorrow on the training schedule.  The alarm went off at 4am and I hit snooze twice, not really fully awake either time.  At the third alarm, I climbed out of bed and headed to the bathroom to wash my face, brush my teeth and get ready for the run.  The whole while I was thinking of how nice it would be to sleep in.  How nice it would be to let my body rest just one more day, after all, taking Wednesday off helped- how much more would a 2nd day off work???  Then, I heard my trainer’s voice in my head from a conversation we had during our run last Saturday.  We were talking about the rain last Friday- he ran 35 miles in it and I opted for 11 miles around the indoor track at my gym and the treadmill.  He was saying how easy it would have been for most people to go back to sleep and skip the run altogether, but discipline means you make it work- no matter what the circumstances and you get the miles you need in for the week.  It was at that point, I literally stopped and stared at myself in the mirror, this internal battle going back and forth in my head.  I could go back to sleep, well, at least crawl under the covers and lie down in my warm bed.  However, I was already up, face washed and teeth brushed, lights shining brightly in my eyes- I mean, I was AWAKE.  And I could hear Bisou, she was awake too.  Ahhh, Bisou.  She desperately needed to be run, there was another reason I should suck it up and do it.  Finally, I decided the old adage “you never regret doing it, however, you almost always regret not doing it” was true.  I started my stretching and the decision was made.  At this point, I wasn’t sure I would get the full 10 miles in, but I was getting myself out the door and that was the first battle.

Bisou and I set out and I was more than pleasantly surprised at the mild morning.  It was supposed to be 10-13 mph winds and feel like it was in the 30’s.  Instead, it was calm and balmy- rather humid.  My legs felt great as we rounded out the first mile, second mile and started the third.  Unfortunately, by the third mile I felt like I might need a potty stop so I was planning to circle back to my house for a quick break… I was running through Valley Junction around 3.5 miles and decided to weave through the parking lots just to see if they’d started preparing for the weekend’s Earth Day Festival (meaning set up porta potties).  God was definitely providing for me this morning 🙂  Porta potties were lined up and stocked with TP!!

As we got going again, I realized I must have sprinted the first 3 miles.  All of a sudden, I felt tired and winded.  I told myself to slow down, I had allotted plenty of time to get this run done, so it was ok to just take my time.  The miles continued to tick off.  Bisou was keeping up with me and wasn’t limping or showing any signs of distress like she did the previous times we had attempted long runs together in March.  I know it’s only been a week and the vet said it would take up to 2 months to see the effects, but I think the glucosamine they put her on is really helping!  We headed back towards home when my watch rang out 7 miles.  The maximum miles I will run with Bisou is 9 miles so I wanted to get her home close to that mark.  At that point, I knew I’d make it 9 miles and was contemplating stopping with Bisou when I got home.  The closer we got home though, the more I thought to myself I was ONLY cheating MYSELF by skipping that last mile… so, with that, I dropped Bisou off inside the house and took off for one more mile.

Not quite sure how long a mile loop would be, I decided to wing it and weaved in and out creating a new path I had not run before in my neighborhood.  As I was approaching my house again, I was only at 9.8.  Dang it!  I could call that good, but then again, I woke up at 4am and I did not wake up that early for nothing!  I crossed the street and started a short out and back down a side street for the last tenth of a mile.

I don’t know why Friday’s are so hard for me to get going… but I’m glad I stared myself down this morning and sucked it up.  It feels so refreshing and rewarding to know that I’ve got that run under my belt and that I was able to beat those mental monkeys out of my head one more time.

Cheers and TGIF!

4 thoughts on “Stare down with myself in the mirror

  1. Great job getting out there this morning! I had a similar battle. I am off running due to injury, but trying to get some sort of workout in every day. My alarm went off at 4:30. I wanted to get to the gym for a 5:45 spin class, but get there early and walk on the ‘mill. I kept dozing off and waking and looking at my clock. Finally at 5:09 I was wide awake. I decided I could still make it in time for spin class. I was so glad I did, as this instructor is so good at pushing us and making sure we get in a great workout. I had the same thought as I left the gym and drove to work “you never regret doing it”.

    Where do you teach spin class at? I’m a member at Aspen and take classes there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

