Thinking ahead… taking the smart route… or the Nikki route…

I’m happy to report that today’s long run of 12 miles was uneventful.  No injures, no mental monkeys, no errrr ummmm “accidents” or potty stops!  It was a gorgeous morning with the sun shining bright and about 40 degrees- perfect for a run!  I started out with 2 miles around my neighborhood with Bisou before I met Andrea, Marzia and Rob for a 10 mile out and back along the Neal Smith trail in Des Moines.

I am feeling a little burned out in my training right now.  What’s getting me through is knowing that next week I will be tapering before running the Drake Half Marathon, then 1 more hard week of training culminating with a 20 mile run, then 2 weeks of tapering before the Green Bay Cellcom Marathon.

Knowing that the Green Bay Cellcom Marathon is coming up so quickly, I’m starting to think ahead about what I want to do next.  I am already signed up to run the Dam to Dam 20k the first weekend in June.  I plan on taking this run easy and enjoying it since it’s only 2 weeks after the marathon.  After that, I’m signed up to run the Zooma Great Lakes Half Marathon at Lake Geneva in October and am planning to sign up for the Mason City Half Marathon the weekend before that.

I would like to run a few small 5k races around Des Moines this summer and try to place.  I think that would be fun and work on my speed training more.  Plus, what a confidence booster to place!  Who cares if I only enter races with 20 people total signed up, right?? 🙂

Then… there’s the Women Rock Marathon in Minnesota on September 1st.  The schwag is amazing- a running jacket and a running pendant.  Plus, for some reason if I don’t have another marathon in my schedule, I feel like I’m not working hard enough.  Right now, I feel like my body just needs a rest for a while.  I’m tired.  Period.  So, the smart thing would probably be to take the summer off, run my long runs with my friends on Saturdays and take it easy.  Work on speed and run some small 5ks and train for the half marathons in the fall.  Then, the “real” part of me is all for adding the September marathon to my schedule.  I like how I feel when I finish a long run.  I like the adrenaline rush, the exhaustion and… is it bad that I like how in shape I am right now??  I am probably in the best shape of my life and I am loving it!  I don’t want to lose what I’ve worked so hard for!

Ahhh… decisions decisions!  I have time before I need to pull the trigger on the Women Rock marathon… I’ll see how I’m doing after the Green Bay Cellcom Marathon and then… go from there.  If I do decide to run it, I can take the entire month of June off.  I was planning on keeping up my long runs on Saturdays anyways so…. well, we’ll see.  What would you do?  What is on your training schedule for the summer?

Leave a Reply

