From PR to Hot Mess

I am going to chalk this up to months of training and “living like a monk”… yesterday I lost self-control and over-indulged.  Blerg.  😦

Coming off a fantastic weekend and half marathon time, I felt tired, sore and well, obviously weak to temptations.

First, I did not get up at 4:30 to meet my friends Andrea and Marzia for a 5 mile run.  Instead, I text Andrea that I was going to get an extra hour of sleep and run in my neighborhood.  Well, THAT didn’t happen.  An hour turned into an hour and a half… when I FINALLY dragged myself out of bed got ready and took Bisou for a short 3 mile run.  I told myself the shorter run was ok because I was going to the gym later to check out a class I may start teaching post-marathon.

I met some former colleagues for lunch and one was having a particularly rough day.  We decided meeting after work for a drink was a must in these circumstances and my plans to check out the class at the gym quickly faded.  After work, it was about 80 degrees and wonderful and sunny.  Sitting on a patio, soaking up the sun… one glass magically turned into 1 and a half when my friend poured some of her 2nd glass into my empty one.

I got a text from another former colleague wanting to meet and catch up.  The warmer weather had everyone itching to get out and socialize.  I moved on to another patio to soak up more sun and drink more wine.  Again, one glass turned into two.  Did I need the 2nd glass?  No.  Did I know this when I ordered it? Yes.  We split some nachos because my tummy was getting rumbly… and in my good old-fashioned self, my lack will power for wine translated into a lack of will power for diet too.  On the way home, I decided more nachos would be QUITE tasty, but my one of my favorites, bean dip and chips, would be even tastier :).  So, weak me pulls into a gas station to buy some processed, chalk full of preservatives and unnecessary additives bean dip.

I got home and dug in until sleepiness took over… just shy of 9:00pm.

The alarm went off at 4:30am this morning to meet Andrea for an 8 mile run at the Great Western Trailhead.  I had been up since 2:30am and seriously the last thing I wanted to do was run.  But, since I cancelled yesterday, there was NO way I was canceling 2 days in a row.  I sucked it up and got up.  Just as I anticipated from my night of over-indulgence, my tummy was not liking me.

Once I met Andrea I fully disclosed how stupid I was the night before and we re-routed to pass some bathrooms for the beginning of our run.  After one stop, I thought I’d be ok so we continued down the trail we intended to run.  I was not feeling good.  We were at 2.75 miles and I wanted to puke.  But I needed this run, especially after I cut my run short yesterday and then de-railed.  I kept going and surprisingly, felt better as I kept running.  Until about mile 5.  We were in the middle of nowhere and my tummy started rumbling again.  Great!  I had no choice but to duck off the trail and squat in the woods.  Gross, I know, but what was I supposed to do?!?  We finished the run and I was pleasantly surprised it was at an 8:48 pace despite how awful I felt.  AND I finished!  Despite how awful I felt.

I have no idea what happened to me yesterday.  I lost it and I’m not proud :(.  This morning was a great reminder for why I love training so much- I FEEL great and I don’t over-indulge and I follow a good diet.  It keeps me out of trouble! 🙂

Today is a new day and I treated it as such.  I ate well.  In fact my dinner was absolutely fantastic!  Seared Salmon, sautéed mushrooms and spinach and steamed asparagus.  YUM!  I’m back on track and focused.

How have you de-railed on your training plan before?  What are your weaknesses?  Favorite thing to over-indulge in?

 

Leave a Reply

