Quote of the Week (and one I actually used this week!)

“I will always listen to my coaches. But first I listen to my body. If what they tell me suits my body, great. If my body doesn’t feel good with what they say, then always my body comes first.”  

-Haile Gebrselassie, Ethiopian, long-distance track and road running athlete

Mondays are my speed or track workout days.  When my alarm went off I felt so stiff and groggy- more so than usual!  I made the decision to give my body some rest.  I slept an extra hour and then stretched and foam rolled my creaky muscles.  By mid-morning I felt great!  No stiffness left and I hit the track yesterday with renewed energy.  Learning to listen to my body is a lesson that’s taking me a while to master, but every time I stop and give it what it needs, it pays off.

Cheers!


Leave a Reply

