Running on Exhaustion

Something weird happened to me this week.  I met my friend and neighbor, Beth, for a 4 mile run Tuesday morning and I don’t remember a single thing about the run after leaving my driveway.

I do remember I had a very upset tummy before the run and thought about canceling, but then decided to plug through it and run a route that would provide places to stop, if necessary.  I do remember Bisou was excited as I put her leash on her.  And lastly, I remember that we headed from my house, passed Fairmeadows Park and then turned right.  After that- nothing.

I don’t recall where we ran.  I couldn’t tell you our route.  I didn’t even recall that we ran 4 miles until I turned my watch on again this morning and saw on the Garmin that we logged 4.19 miles.  I can’t remember exactly what we talked about, although I do know that I shared with her Bisou’s recent seizure and we talked about the side effects of prescription drugs on dogs.  I remember coming home and telling Beth that I felt really dizzy before heading inside.

Halfway through the day, Beth text me to make sure I was ok.  I didn’t really understand why she would ask me that, at that time, I knew we had run, but hadn’t realized how little of that run I actually remember.  She told me yesterday that I kept asking her the same questions over and over and we basically had the same conversation twice during our run and she was really quite worried about me!  All she was thinking was if I pass out, how would Bisou react and would Bisou let her touch her, touch me?  Plus, it was dark and we were two lone females with a dog and no phones.  What would she even be able to do?

I feel tired and sluggish this week, but I figure that’s got to be normal coming off a marathon run 2 weeks ago.  I haven’t really run all that much since.  I’ve been teaching spin classes twice a week and felt alright.  The other times I ran I felt alright.  Was I dehydrated?  I don’t feel dehydrated and I think I’ve been drinking as much water as I usually do.

It’s just a little alarming to not remember anything.

So, tell me, has this ever happened to you?  What can cause this to happen?

Leave a Reply

