Quote of the Week

You’ve only got to get out there and do it. Face up to it: man was meant to run.”

-Percy Cerutty, running coach

I drew inspiration from this quote this morning- I saw it in my email inbox yesterday, courtesy of Runners World, and it was the kick in the pants I needed to get motivated this week. ¬†I don’t know if it’s the cooler mornings, the darker mornings, or what, but I am lacking some serious motivation. ¬†All I want is sleep :). ¬†And, I’ve been getting plenty! ¬†An 8pm bedtime leaves me with 9 blissful hours of precious sleep before the alarm rudely awakens me at 5am.

I had speed drills on my schedule for Monday. ¬†Only 4×800’s- piece of cake! ¬†For some reason, I couldn’t get my head around it. I had good intentions to get to the gym at 5am when it opened, knock out the drills, then instruct spin starting at 5:30. ¬†Instead, I reset my alarm, got to the gym for class, and called it quits afterwards. ¬†Tuesday, I told myself. ¬†Tuesday, I will do my speed drills. ¬†Then, I text a running buddy to see if she’d join me on the track and learned she was running easy with another neighbor at 6am. ¬†Obviously, an easy run at the late hour of 6am sounds so much more palatable than track work alone… so I opted to join them instead and get Bisou out for a good run at the same time.

Then, I read this quote. ¬†Ok Nikki, enough excuses! ¬†I only have to get out there and do it! ¬†So, today after instructing spin class, I hopped on the treadmill and began my first 800 at a 7:08 pace. ¬†I wanted to quit. ¬†I contemplated shortening it to only a 400. ¬†But, I made myself stick with it. ¬†Thoughts were streaming through my head like “maybe I’ll just do 2…” but, really, what is the point of only doing 2 speed drills? ¬†I might not have started with them at all then! ¬†So, I pressed on. ¬†Halfway through my second 800, Nike’s slogan “just do it!” came to mind and then became my mantra for the rest of the run. ¬†Oh, the power of advertising! ¬†I realized I wasn’t wearing any Nike gear at all. ¬†Shoes- Mizuno. ¬†Shirt- Addidas. ¬†Shorts- Under Armour. ¬†I started wondering if I wore Nike, would that give me a constant push to “just do it!” ? ¬†Ahh… nice job Nike!

I’m happy to say I did finish all 4 800’s! ¬†And, by the last one, I was feeling better. ¬†My body just needed this wake up call and I’ll be hitting it hard next week!

One thought on “Quote of the Week

Leave a Reply

