Renewed, Rejuvenated, and Ready to Run!

That was how I tackled my speed intervals this morning.  I have to admit, the alarm went off and I hit snooze 4 times this morning.  As I hazily crept in and out of consciousness, I encountered the same lazy excuses drifting in and out of my thoughts.  I can speed work tomorrow.  It’s raining outside.  I could just sleep a little longer this morning and run after work.  Then, as I slowly started to wake up, my heart started pounding.  Today was speed work day!  800’s would be a new challenge!  I had a GREAT run at the Zooma Great Lakes Half Marathon this weekend!  I am getting stronger!  And besides, I am really beginning to heart speed work!  I got myself out of bed (I wish I could say I leapt out of bed with all this excitement going round in my head, but, I do love my sleep, and it takes a LOT of effort to pull myself out from under the covers 🙂 ).  As I started getting ready, washing my face and brushing my teeth, I checked my calendar to see what was on the schedule.  I was actually HAPPY when I saw that the number of 800’s I needed to complete today had jumped up to 6!  I could this and it was going to feel great!  Not to mention that the 3rd and final presidential debate is tonight (remember, I am that political geek) and I knew Morning Joe on MSNBC would be entertaining!

I hit the treadmill at the gym and logged a half mile warm up before I sped up to a 7:08 pace for another half mile.  I told myself the first one is always the hardest. I was right about Morning Joe, the show did not disappoint this morning and kept my mind pre-occupied as I powered through the first set.  I took a 200 recovery- half at a fast walk, then bringing it back up to a slow jog.  Here came round two.  Then round 3- halfway through already!  Woot woot!  I was feeling on top of the world.  I just wanted to keep going and was watching the miles tick by on the treadmill for the recovery to be over so I could ramp it up again.  I have to say, even with adding 1 more set to my speed drills, they felt easier this morning.  Even in spite of the high humidity and unseasonably warm temperatures today.  I looked like I had jumped in a pool.  I was drenched and the treadmill was spattered with drops of my sweat, like my badge of honor.

I am making progress, I just feel better during and after my runs.  Physically, I’m getting this put back together.  Mentally, it’s coming back- confidence and excitement to get me started and push me through.  Internally, well, that’s still being resolved unfortunately.  The ultrasound of my gallbladder and abdomen came back normal.  Which, is great!  And disappointing at the same time.  With those results normal, we are still at square one in determining what is wrecking my insides and making me feel sick.  The colonoscopy is still scheduled for next week, I have been unsuccessful thus far in delaying it.  I just don’t think it will lead to any answers either, given that the one I had just 2 years ago didn’t bring any results.  And I’m still sick, with new, improved symptoms.  Awesome. (note the heavy drip of sarcasm here…)  Mind over matter as I tell myself on a run.  The good news, I have the pavement to beat out my frustrations on until my tummy starts to cooperate with the rest of my body and soul.

Tell me how you tackle frustrations and set backs?  Does running help you push through them?

Leave a Reply

