Stories of survival and inspiration

Yesterday I had the opportunity to interview Survivors at the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in Des Moines.  This is the second year I’ve served on the race committee and the first year that I’ve worked with Survivors.  New this year, the race director threw out the idea of interviewing Survivors so that Komen can use their stories of hope, survival, and inspiration to educate others on what Komen stands for, how it helps women fight their battle, and how it helps prevent the disease and find a cure.  With my background as a news anchor and reporter, I happily volunteered for the job.

I knew that my time speaking with Survivors yesterday would be powerful, beyond that, I didn’t know what to expect.  As we got started, woman after woman shared their journey with me.  Some were very in-depth about their diagnosis and treatment.  Others skimmed through those details.  What every woman focused on the need to be strong, to fight, to never give up, and to keep living.  They shared how their faith in God pulled them through and gave them hope.  They were open about their faith and the strength they drew from it.

The strength of these women is inspiring.  I am proud to have been a part of the Race for the Cure and to have had the opportunity to chat with Survivors from around the state of Iowa.

As for my foot after the fall on Friday, it’s much better- thank goodness!  I completed my 16 mile run this morning.  My neighbor, Lisa, helped me start out and ran half the miles with me, from there, I ran a short 3 mile loop, and then circled home to pick up Bisou for the last leg.  I baby’d my left foot, taking left turns extra careful and being sure not to jump off curbs.  I soaked in epsom salts immediately afterwards to warm up and loosen up my muscles and am now icing my foot for good measure.  The next two weeks will bring more rest days than my schedule calls for with a colonoscopy  and CT enterography this week and vacation the following week.  Then, it’s time to hit it hard with 12 weeks to go until the Phoenix Rock n’ Roll Marathon!

Leave a Reply

