My cup overfloweth…

Today, I am writing out of gratitude.  As I ran 20 miles yesterday, my “cup overfloweth.”   I reflected on the past 2 years and the wonderful friends I have made, all through running.  If it hadn’t been for running, I never would met some very special people, who have made an impression in my life.  I am so thankful.

Thankful that I am physically capable and healthy to run.  Thankful for the people who I have met, all while enjoying a hobby that makes me happy.  Thankful for every run that proves to me just how strong I am, even when I doubt myself.  Thankful for meeting people who believe in me, even when I don’t.  Thankful for friends who get up before dawn, in temperatures below freezing to help me through a 20 mile run.  It was that, that unselfish giving of themselves, that overcame me yesterday morning.

As I bask in this feeling of utter gratitude, not only for what running has brought into my life, but for the many others that God has blessed me with- faithful friends and a family who loves and supports me, I was struck by a piece of the message in church this morning.  As the sermon came to an end, the pastor told us “You don’t have to be elite, you just have to be faithful.”  Through our faithfulness, God will bless us.  This is true not only in my everyday life and relationships with friends, but also in training.  It’s a good reminder that I don’t have to be the best.  As long as I’m faithful, I follow the rules, I give 100% of myself, I will reap the blessings in the end.  Maybe, that won’t come in the form of qualifying for Boston anytime soon, but I think I’ve already reaped many blessings that benefit me far more through pursuing this hobby I have come to love.

Cheers!

One thought on “My cup overfloweth…

Leave a Reply

