Because I’m *such* a good listener…

Screen Shot 2012-12-14 at 12.37.50 PM

 

This totally sums me up.  In the past, I have completely ignored the blinking red warning lights that my body signaled to me.  That was, I’m happy to report, until yesterday.

I had 7 miles on my schedule at an easy pace.  As I started out with Bisou to run the 1 mile to meet my neighbor, Kelly, I could tell I wasn’t in the right mind or body to be out running.  I felt exhausted.  It felt like I was moving a ton of bricks with every step.  My breathing was heavy.  Bisou, meanwhile, was frolicking (yes, actually frolicking jumping in the air and turning back to look at me with her tongue hanging out of her mouth in a doggy smile).  I felt like crud.  And I had felt like crud (worse crud than I normally do) for the past 2 days.  I had even cancelled my strength training session with my trainer the night before because I knew there was no way I’d keep up.  So, as I met up with Kelly, we chatted and ran for the first mile together (which was my second mile).  Then, I blurted out that this was *not* my run. I was *not* feeling it and it was *not* getting any better.  Kelly graciously said we could cut it short if I needed to, she was just along as a training buddy :).  So, I did.  We ran down Valley Junction, all lit up with Christmas lights, and back down before heading back to her car.  I nearly fell on my face as Bisou took a left and I took a right.  A sign, Kelly said, that it was indeed time to stop.  After Bisou and I said good-bye to Kelly and headed on the last mile back home, I caught the side of Bisou’s leg again and nearly tumbled.  I was definitely tired and obviously not paying attention!  When it happened a 3rd time (yes, sadly, I was *that* clumsy yesterday morning), I knew I had made the right decision to cut  the run short.  No matter how easy I was taking it, my legs were simply trashed.  On top of that, I felt nauseated immediately when I stopped running and that feeling persisted throughout the day along with an achy-ness and fatigue I could *not* shake :(.

With a 10 mile pace run on the schedule for today and knowing that my speed days and long runs days are the most important days of the week, I started to question whether I should push it or sleep.  I took to my running pals for some advice and was unanimously told to “REST!”  Ok!  You don’t have to tell me twice, at least this time.  See, I *can* learn new things :).  Especially after last weekend’s epic bad long run, I didn’t want another one on Saturday to mess with me mentally.

So, last night, I went to bed without setting the alarm clock.  *Scandalous*, I know!  And tonight, I’m even skipping yoga to give my body an entire day of reprieve and rest, because, you know…

Screen Shot 2012-12-14 at 12.41.44 PM

I did however, come across this fantastic workout on Runner’s World I can’t wait to try once I’m feeling my norm next week.  Let me know if you try and what you think of it!

And, with it being winter and all (although, this 50 degree weather is absolutely fabulous and can stay FOREVER!), I’m also looking forward to making this soup I came across on one of my favorite blogs, Iowa Girl Eats for Crock Pot Potato, Barley, and Canadian Bacon Soup.

Screen Shot 2012-12-14 at 1.02.13 PM

Doesn’t it look DELISH??  I will be substituting the condensed milk for coconut milk and quinoa for barley to make this dairy and gluten free.  YUM! 🙂

Leave a Reply

