Resolution Run

This morning even I questioned my sanity!  Temperatures dropped overnight.  When I woke up, it was anywhere between -7 and 0 degrees with windchill (depending on what weather source you checked).  And, I had not only signed up to run a 5k Resolution Run, sponsored by the Running Room, I had also convinced 2 of my running buddies, Andrea and Lisa, to run it too!  The first thing I did was text both of them to see if they were running.  I had absolutely no intention of running in this weather and I was pretty sure I would get a similar response from each of them.  Boy, was I surprised when they both text back that they were planning on it and would see me at the start!  Oi!  Now, I was in it- fully committed.  As I obsessively do, I started checking the weather every 15 minutes, hoping for a sudden rise in temperatures.

I bundled up with 4 layers on top and two on the bottom.  Two layers of gloves, my face/breathe mask, and hat.  I was pretty confident I was not overdressed for the run this morning. (and I proved myself right- love it when that happens 😉 )  I found Andrea at the start line.  There were no buildings open to keep us warm, so we huddled under the Caribou Coffee tent and I swear, for whatever reason, it was warmer under there!  Lisa joined us and as we waited for the start, I was surprised that I felt comfortable.

Screen Shot 2013-01-01 at 2.29.16 PM

Soon enough we were lining up.  I still had no idea how I was going to run this race.  When I signed up for the run, my intention was to run it at whatever pace felt good.  I wanted to run this to start the year out right, not to be discouraged by missing a time goal. However, my trainer, had a different idea of what I should/could accomplish and wanted me to run hard and knock out a speed workout with this run in lieu of my weekly 800’s.  With the temperature, I just didn’t know what that would look like.  Lisa was ahead of Andrea and I as we started out.  We were close enough to the front that we didn’t have a bottleneck or the challenge of passing people from the get go.  As we started running, I felt the challenge to breathe in this cold air.  I was huffing it!  And the first mile was all uphill!  I decided to run as hard as I could for as long as I could and not check my Garmin.  The course, for the most part, was clear of ice and snow, so that helped with traction and footing.  It was so cold, my eyes watered the entire run.  At mile two, my eye lashes froze and I was gazing through crystalized droplets.  It was cold!  I kept pushing it and realized that I was feeling good!  I was questioning the route though, as I didn’t know how we were going to get 3.1 miles out of it… and as I turned the last corner, I realized it would be short.  I could see the finish line and I sprinted, sorry I had taken it easier up the last hill, anticipated we still had a good half mile left of the race.  As I crossed the finish, I overheard one guy say I was the first female to finish!  Woo-pee!!  I didn’t anticipate that, and I’m not saying that it means anything, it was cold, and most people probably had the same intention I originally had to run for fun.  Still, I was glad it was over.  I ended up running 2.8 miles in 22 minutes.   Andrea, Lisa, and I met up, all finishing within 5 minutes of each other.  The bottles of water had even begun to freeze by the time we were done.

Today’s run proves again to me, that pushing myself past my limits, is good for me!  I can’t think of a better way to start the New Year.  And I’m glad I have friends who are just as crazy to enjoy a run in freezing temperatures with me :).

Cheers!

One thought on “Resolution Run

Leave a Reply

