Because I’m hardcore like that…

I don’t know why I have a hard time seeing myself as “hardcore.”  Maybe it’s because that BQ has yet to come, or because I still wimp out of running in sub-zero temperatures.  It a was compliment I received from a friend at the gym yesterday (who, by the way, in my definition is hard core!) while we were discussing my training schedule for the upcoming P.F. Chang’s Phoenix Rock ‘n Roll Marathon.  I laughed it off when he said it and shook my head in disagreement.

Today, I tackled my longest pace run to date.  Half mile warm-up, 3 miles at 8:19, 4 miles at 8:12, 1 mile at 8:06, 1 mile at 8:00, followed by a 1 mile cool down.  I admit I was b-o-r-e-d beyond belief trudging through it on the treadmill, but it didn’t feel all that hard.  I mean, not that it was exactly easy either, but not nearly as scary as I made it out to be in my head a year ago when I successfully put these runs off week after week.  And you know what?  I felt hardcore today!

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 10.35.46 AM

 

Being hardcore doesn’t come from my past performances.  It comes from my training. It comes from what I’m about to do.  As I said in my post a few weeks ago (see How to use a shovel), these are the weeks I need to focus on positive self-talk in order to break the barriers and run this marathon with full confidence.    We are all hardcore in our own ways, whether it be from what we’ve done or from what we are embarking on.

And a special bonus tonight!  I received a real, genuine, great compliment from my niece as I was making her dinner after yoga class.  She was watching me in the kitchen and proclaimed “Nikki, I think I get my skinniness from you!”  Ahhh… much better than the errr, ummm, compliments I received last night 🙂 (see Not quite the compliment I was hoping for?)

On that note, cheers my friends!

2 thoughts on “Because I’m hardcore like that…

  1. Haha! I love that sign 🙂 I did a Superhero race last year and bought a Wonder Woman t-shirt that came with a detachable cape – I might have to start wearing it to the gym 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

