Game Plan!

Ok, I am waaaay overdue for a post- for that, I apologize :).  I spent most of the weekend resting and sleeping as much as I could in hopes of a fast recovery (see The Crud). And, my body must have needed it!  After sleeping for 13 hours Friday night, I fell asleep during the Packers playoff game and as hard as I fought it off, I could not keep my eyes open (although, I might be glad that I missed the second half- yikes Pack!).  I finally gave in and crawled into bed, feeling as if I’d been drugged or something!  I slept more than 10 hours again Saturday night and fell blissfully asleep at 8:30 last night :).

This morning, I woke up with more energy than I felt all last week and knocked out my “easy” run on the treadmill after instructing spin.  I did feel a little bad during spin class because I “faked” it and will “fake” it again on Wednesday in order to save my legs in the days leading up to the P.F. Changs Phoenix Rock ‘n Roll Marathon.  I kept my resistance real low and my “sprints” definitely were lacking.

Anyways, it’s time to get my head in the game now!  I met with Paxton, who has been guiding me through my training for this marathon, last night and he finalized my “game plan” for the marathon.  It’s all written out, down to when to take my gels, water, and gatorade.  I know the elevation.  I know what to expect.  Deep down, I know I can do this.  I know I’ve trained hard and I’ve trained to run this race at my “goal” pace.  It’s all going to come down to the mental challenge. This time, I need to seclude myself the night before the marathon and practice visualizing what I’m going to do when my mind wants to give up on me.  What am I going to do to get myself over the thought that I don’t want it that bad, that it’s ok to slow down, that I’m not going to finish if I don’t slow down.  I’ve proven to myself that I am way tougher physically than I ever imagined.  Now, it’s time to prove it to myself mentally.  I told you, I’m going to be channeling Stuart Smalley from SNL this week, and the daily affirmations are in full force this week! 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-01-14 at 7.44.31 PM

5 thoughts on “Game Plan!

  1. I do like that part about teaching spin…you can ‘fake’ it or coach OFF the bike whenever you need to! Mostly I stay on the bike and workout with them, but I like to get off the bike for sprints to encourage my students and yell at them, haha 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

