“Triumph over Adversity…”

Ashley Nicole finish expo

 

Well, here it is!  Race weekend!  I met up Ashley, who I plan to run with during the P.F. Chang’s Phoenix Rock n’ Roll Marathon this morning.  We both relied on our friend, Paxton, for training advice, regimen, and a good kick in the arse (ok, that last one was more me… 🙂 ), and since we have the same time goal for the race, decided to meet up for the first time and push each other to the finish line.  I think we’re off to a good start in this picture! 🙂  We spent a couple of hours perusing the expo this morning and got manicures after lunch.

With time to kill and the sun shining down in 70 degree temps, I headed to the pool area to relax and read for a bit.

book

 

Feeling a little anxious again today in anticipation of the race, I watched the inspiring moving and one of my favorites Spirit of the Marathon.  It gets me every time!  And yes, I’ll admit, I cried watching the runners in the documentary accomplish their goals and dreams.  If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend it.

I’ve gotten a lot of inspiration and support heading into this race.  My awesomely cool parents (I’m really so very blessed!) sent me off yesterday with a carbo loading pasta lunch, notecards full of inspirational quotes, thoughts from my mom, and bible verses to draw strength from during the run tomorrow, and another fabulous sign to cheer me on!

sign

 

I have it set up where I can see it 🙂  My trainer, Paxton, also posted a great reminder on Facebook today too.  Really, this advice is all I need.  I just need to remember it and most importantly, believe it!

Screen Shot 2013-01-19 at 8.06.56 PM

 

I am ready.  I trained hard.  I trained right.  I trained for this.  And my training will get me there, if I just believe.  I am going into tomorrow with optimistic thoughts!

Per my type-A personality, I have my race outfit all layed out, gels tucked into my spibelt, shoes ready, and my gear bag packed!

race outfit

 

With that, I will leave you with a quote that stood out tonight as I watched Spirit of the Marathon by Katherine Switzer, the first woman to break the rules and through the barriers and run the Boston Marathon:

“Triumph over adversity that’s what the marathon is all about. Nothing in life can’t triumph after that” (Kathrine Switzer)

Leave a Reply

