Quote of the Week

“It was being a runner that mattered, not how fast or how far I could run. The joy was in the act of running and in the journey, not in the destination. We have a better chance of seeing where we are when we stop trying to get somewhere else.”

-John Bingham, No Need for Speed: A Beginner’s Guide to the Joy of Running

It’s time for me to get back to the simple basics. For me, I love running. ¬†It brings me joy and happiness. ¬†Just getting out and hitting the pavement. ¬†Enjoying the slow runs, feeling the crisp, fresh air hit my skin, the feel of the pavement under my feet. ¬†The challenges that come from pushing myself at the track or on the treadmill during speed drills. ¬†Learning how my body and my mind respond to new techniques and the fatigue brought on from training. ¬†I love it. ¬†Simply put. ¬†Running for me is not about winning. ¬†Sure, I want to push myself. ¬†I set goals. ¬†I work hard to make myself a better person and a better runner. ¬†But it starts and ends with the joy that I get from this sport. ¬†It’s time for me to take a deep breath and to hit the “reset” button. ¬†It’s time for me to get back to the basics.

Leave a Reply

