A taste of spring… longing for more

Today feels like spring!  And look what I found in one of my flower beds!

Spring has sprung! New buds!
Spring has sprung! New buds!

This morning I met Marzia for a 5 mile run around Principal Park and Greys Lake.  I haven’t run with her in weeks and it was so much FUN to catch up with a friend.  The morning was perfect for a run too!  It has been forever since I didn’t freeze during an early run.

Bisou even made it out with us this morning.  Since she still has a sore paw, I decided to put booties on her for protection against the rough sand, salt, and ice that we’ve been encountering on our walks and runs.  Yesterday was a “test” run if you will to see if the booties would stay on during activity.  She was thrilled when I put them on…

caption from a friend on FB: " I actually read something once that dogs can feel embarrassment. This is photographic proof of that."
caption from a friend on FB: ” I actually read something once that dogs can feel embarrassment. This is photographic proof of that.”

This morning, the booties did the trick in preventing any bleeding and more irritation, but the booties may not be up for the wear of a run:

Bisou booties run

It kinda looks like she’s giving me the finger!  haha!  Well, now we know how she feels about the booties :).

So, here is just how co-dependent my dog is. I needed a potty break during our run this morning and Marzia offered to hold on to Bisou while I used the bathroom at Greys Lake.  Bisou literally dragged Marzia into the bathroom, not able to stand not seeing me.  It only took a minute after she successfully made her way into the bathroom for her to duck under the stall door to check up on me…

Driving home from the run, my endorphins were definitely in full force!  I felt happy, light, and excited for the day!  Running with friends can make all the difference to me. I do like a good mix of running alone and running with a group and today, the company was just what I needed!

Unfortunately, those endorphins didn’t stick around for the remainder of the morning.  I’m not sure if it’s the time change, but I have been extra sleepy this week!  Coffee has been a life saver every morning!  My favorite go-to coffee drink is a medium roast with dark chocolate almond milk.  The dark chocolate almond milk is also my go-to post-workout recovery drink, so I can score two-in-one with this coffee treat! 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This morning’s run and the afternoon sunshine streaming in through my office window has created a wicked case of spring fever in me today!  Bisou’s taking full advantage of it too- the lazy bum is lying around, soaking it all in 🙂

Bisou spring fever

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “A taste of spring… longing for more

Leave a Reply

