Quote of the Week

It’s the first day of spring!  Time to celebrate and break out the lighter clothes, right?!  Well, not if you live in the midwest, unfortunately.  That little groundhog, Punxsutawney Phil, may have predicted an early spring, but we’re still waiting for the evidence here in Iowa.    This morning I was greeted with grey skies, a cold blast of air, and even snow flurries when I left my house at 5am to instruct spin!  Alas, I digress.

Here is the “Quote of the Week”:

Focus on what it’s like to be outdoors, to feeling your body move, to the relationships you may have built through running. These are experiences that can be reproduced with every run—you don’t need a good finish time to produce them. By shifting the focus from results to running itself you’ll feel empowered.”

-Jim Taylor, PhD, a sports psychologist and author of Prime Sport: Triumph of the Athlete Mind, The Bliss List, RunnersWorld.com

This pretty much says it perfectly for me during the course of the past 2 months.  I’ve buckled down, refocused, and remembered what made me fall in love with this sport.  It’s the feeling of freedom when I’m on the streets or a trail.  It’s the friends I’ve made.  It’s the feeling of empowerment and satisfaction that washes over me at the end of each run.  Those factors remain consistent and are key to me.  My friend Andrea C. and I were talking about this on our run yesterday afternoon.  Running is like a drug.  I need it.  And this is why.

2 thoughts on “Quote of the Week

Leave a Reply

