Foodie Friday!

It’s Friday folks!  Thank goodness!  I have been feeling off my game all week and today it has hit me like a ton of bricks.  Sore throat and so tired, I feel like I’ve been drugged!  Enough complaining for now though :).

I started the weekend off with an 8 mile run with Bisou and my friend Andrea C.  It was cold but calm this morning and we headed downtown to loop around the capitol and back.  There were hills for some added training bonus.  Iowa’s capitol is one of the prettiest in the country.  I never get tired of the view, which made this morning’s run that much more enjoyable.

Screen Shot 2013-03-22 at 5.31.56 PM

 

This week, I adapted a recipe that I found on the Dancing Runner’s blog for Mushroom Pizza to make it dairy and gluten free and it did not disappoint!

Mushroom Pizza

1 large Portobello mushroom (or more depending on how many you’re serving)

1/4 c. Daiya cheese

1/2 c. sautéed spinach and/or kale

1 small can of tomato sauce

Italian style chicken sausage

Garlic powder

Salt/red pepper flakes, to taste

Preheat the oven to 375. Cut the stem and scrape out the insides of the Portobello. Bake it by itself in the oven for about 15 minutes. Take the mushroom out, drain the juices and you are ready to pile the toppings on! Add tomato sauce, then the sautéed greens. Top with cheese and chopped up chicken sausage. Sprinkle garlic powder, salt and a little bit of red pepper for a nice kick. Put back in the oven and let cook for another 15-20 minutes.

post pizza

I served it with the rest of the kale I had sautéed.  Fabulous, yummy, and quick!  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

