Rungry!

After a long run, I am rarely hungry.  In fact, I usually have to force myself to eat post long run.  Yes, I’ve read the thousands upon thousands of articles on the importance of eating within the first 30 minutes of a workout, but my tummy just isn’t in the mood for it.

Until the day after.  Yowza!  I cannot eat enough.  I mentioned that to my co-coach, Jolene, during Girls on the Run yesterday and she just laughed and said, “well, you rungry!”  Rungry!  I like it!  And yes, I am rungry!  And, I enjoy the liberty of being able to eat as much as I want during training.  Just a few weeks ago, I whined to my coach, Paxton, that if he was going to force me to conservatively rack up my weekly mileage, I’d be forced to start watching what I eat!  And what fun is that?!?  Quite simply:

Screen Shot 2013-04-01 at 7.04.46 PM

 

It didn’t help that I was so tired yesterday on top of it!  All I wanted to do was sleep and eat… and then eat and sleep some more 🙂  Have you ever noticed that things seem so much better after a good nap?  Or even a good, long, night of sleep?  Maybe it’s just me, but this about sums it up for me here:

Screen Shot 2013-04-01 at 7.10.17 PM

So, today, you can imagine, I am one happy runner.  Fully fueled and well rested 🙂 Stay strong and run on! 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Rungry!

  1. I am the same way. It is hard for me to eat right after a long run. What I have noticed is that if I force the calories down, I recover much faster (to the point I don’t want to just eat and sleep the next day).

    So now I try to always drink a shake after every run. My shake of choice is a banana, scoop of chocolate protein powder, and a scoop of mint chocolate chip ice cream. It is delicious and has a good mix.

    Like

Leave a Reply

