Foodie Friday!

bday4

 

I had a fun birthday yesterday!  I celebrated last night with my family!  My niece made me a princess hat, which I’m proudly wearing in this picture :).  My menu of choice included burgers, grilled asparagus, grilled mushrooms, sweet potato fries, and these amazing gluten-free and dairy free chocolate peanut butter cupcakes that my college roommate posted on her blog, The Knoxvile Holts, recently.

I am really not that into chocolate- I know, I’m told all the time it’s weird.  It just doesn’t do anything for me.  I’ll gladly take a jar of nut butter and sit down with a spoon and dig in though!  Oh!  And trail mix with dried berries and nuts- it’s like crack to me.  I can’t stop eating!  My mom even got me a huge bag of trail mix as part of my birthday present :).

So, on to the important stuff!  Here is the recipe for the amazing Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting (gf,v)

{{{INGREDIENTS}}}
*1 cup all-purpose gluten-free flour
*1/3 cup baking cocoa
*1/4 tsp salt
*1 tsp baking soda
*1/2 tsp baking powder
*1 cup almond milk
*1 tsp vanilla
*1 tsp apple cider vinegar
*1/4 cup honey
*1/3 cup sugar
*1 tsp ground flax-seed
*1/3 cup melted coconut oil
*3 oz dark chocolate, chopped
FROSTING:
*1/2 cup peanut butter
*3 Tbs powdered sugar
*4 Tbs almond milk
{{{DIRECTIONS}}}
1.Preheat the oven to 350.
2.Combine the flour, cocoa, salt, baking soda, baking powder, sugar, and dark chocolate chunks in a large bowl.
3.In another bowl combine the almond milk, vanilla, apple cider vinegar, honey, flaxseed and oil.
4.Combine the dry and wet ingredients and mix on low with hand mixer.
5.Pour batter into greased muffin pan.
6.Bake for 15 min (for mini muffins) or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
7.Let cool for 5 min before transferring to wire rack.
8.For frosting combine all the ingredients and mix on low with hand mixer.
9.Frost cupcakes when they are cooled. (I went old school and put the frosting in a plastic zip-top bag, clipped the corner, and swirled away.)
10.Store in air-tight container as soon as done frosting. I added a piece of bread to keep the cupcakes from drying out.
Makes 24 mini cupcakes
 **We used coconut flour and I also subbed out homemade almond butter (recipe below) for the peanut butter.  We also made regular sized muffins instead of the mini’s. 🙂
Homemade Almond Butter
ingredients:
Raw whole almonds
Sea salt
Preheat oven to 350.  Place almonds in a single row on a baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes, stirring halfway through.  (This adds a nice roasted flavor).  Let cool and transfer almonds to a food processor.  Using the S blade, let the almonds churn for 15-20 minutes, until desired consistency.  *you may need to stop the food processor every few minutes to scrape the almond mixture off the sides of the bowl.
All I can say, is I may or may not have had 2 of these cupcakes with EXTRA almond butter frosting for my dinner tonight.  I should be properly carb loaded for my 20 mile run tomorrow 🙂  Cheers!
Leave a Reply

