Quote of the Week

Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself.

-William Faulkner

This is perfect for where I am right now.  I am very comfortable with my running.  Too comfortable.  I need to push myself outside of my comfort zone.  It’s the only way I will ever get better and achieve my personal goals.  The thing is, I know I can be better.  It’s a mental struggle every pace run and every race.  I know I can push harder.  But my mind tells me I can’t and that I just don’t care.  Runner’s World has an excellent article on this topic that I read on my flight to DC Monday afternoon “Going Beyond the Mantra” by Michelle Hamilton.  It talks about being positive.  Giving yourself the confidence and the push to experience new limits.  Really engaging and figuring out what’s holding you back.  It gave me more than a few things to reflect on.  And I employed some of the techniques on my pace run yesterday and guess what?  I NAILED it. 🙂  It further proves to me, being uncomfortable, is not a bad thing in all situations.  In fact, the only way to break through and make progress is to experience the uncomfortableness.  I need to dig deep and find the strength to stay there.

One thought on “Quote of the Week

Leave a Reply

