Foodie Friday!

TGIF!  I don’t know about you, but this week has drug on for me and I am so happy it’s finally Friday and the weekend is here!  I am also excited for my second physical therapy session this afternoon.  I am walking, rather than shuffling, pain-free and am feeling pretty confident these ASTYM treatments are going to help speed my recovery time!

This week I was in the mood to experiment and was excited to try out these new recipes I found and try them out on the BF :).  We planned to grill out Wednesday nights and I had bought some sweet potatoes as a side… in addition to my love for quinoa, I also have a love for sweet potatoes :).  I also have a love for tater tots (who doesn’t???!!), so when I saw this recipe for Sweet Potato Tater Tots, I knew I had to make them!  I even followed the recipe, as is, no substitutions.  Well, except for adding a little rosemary and garlic spice to the mix.  I love the mix of sweet potatoes seasoned with rosemary.  Who am I kidding, I could probably put rosemary in just about anything!  The tots took some prep, but were pretty easy to make, and well worth the prep time!  YUM!  What’s even better?  A score with the  BF!  This one is definitely going to be in regular rotation :).

Sweet Potato Tater Tots

INGREDIENT

4-5 medium sized sweet potatoes (or yams)

3 Tablespoons of Tapioca or Potato Starch

1/2 Tsp. Salt

Coconut oil for deep frying (OR other high heat safe oil of choice)

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a rapid boil. Add the whole sweet potatoes (DO NOT PEEL THEM). Boil for 15 minutes. Remove from hot water after the 15 minutes and allow to cool fully. (to speed up this process stick them in the fridge or freezer until they are cool enough to handle.
  2. Remove the skins and grate the potatoes. You should end up with about 4 cups. Place the potatoes on a bed of paper towels and then place more towels on top and press out just a little bit of the moisture.
  3. Place 4 cups of the shredded potatoes into a mixing bowl with the salt and starch. Mix well.
  4. On the stove place a skillet (or another pot that can hold an inch or so of oil.) We used a cast iron skillet. Fill it with 1- 1 1/2 inches of frying oil of choice. Turn stove on the medium-high heat and let it heat up while you prepare the tater tots.
  5. With clean hands make the tots. Place 1 heaping teaspoon of potatoes and roll them between the palms of your hands. Then squish the top and bottom to make the classic shape.  Place finished tots on a baking sheet as a holding tank before they go into the fryer.
  6. Fry small groups of tots (we did about 12 tots at a time). in the hot oil for about 1 minute. You know they are done when they become a dark golden color and are crispy. (NOTE: If you fry them too long they will get mushy on the inside- which still tastes good..but it isn’t the texture we are going for here). If after 1 minute your tots don’t seem to be done cooking, turn the heat up higher. If the tots start to burn before the minute is up, turn the heat down slightly.
  7. Place the fried tots on a plate with paper towel to drain oil.  They taste best hot and fresh! Top with additional salt, pepper or any other spices of choice.

Yields 1 large cookie sheet full of tater tots.

tots!

 

I am NOT a sweets person.  I’d much rather have homemade almond butter or peanut butter or trail mix to satisfy any snack craving.  However, one of my college roommates posted a recipe for 3 ingredient cookies that I just had to try, since the 2 main ingredients are ones I already love mixed together!  Bananas and almond butter!  I have to admit, I was a little skeptical starting this recipe, I mean, how can it be that bananas can substitute flour and butter and sugar, which make regular cookies unhealthy??  However, in my continual quest to make unhealthy treats healthy, I got started.

3 Ingredient Cookies

INGREDIENTS

1 cup homemade almond butter

2 ripe bananas

3/4 cup cacao nibs

1.Preheat oven to 350.

2.Mash bananas in large bowl until creamy.

3.Add in peanut butter until well mixed.

4.Fold in chocolate chips.

5.Drop by spoonful onto greased cookie sheet.

6.Bake for 13-15 minutes or until browned.

7.Let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to wire cooling rack.

8.Store in airtight container in fridge for up to a week.

Makes approx 16 cookies

cookies panTo my surprise, they DID bake up, just like regular cookies!

cookies plate

 

The BF was surprised, to say the least, to find cookies sitting on my counter.  I was nervous for him to try them out and see if the healthy recipe would be fool-proof.  Since my favorite afternoon snack is bananas and almond butter, I loved them :).  The BF??  Well, I believe his exact words were “well, I wouldn’t say they’re bad…”  More for me!  I’d say, I worked that one out perfectly!  Although, the quest continues to find a healthy cookie recipe for the BF to enjoy too.

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

