I don’t know how they do it

Props out there to all of my running friends who are moms!  I don’t know how you juggle any sort of exerting physical activity and keep up with kids who seem to have boundless energy.  This week, I have the pleasure of caring for my 10-year-old niece and her 3 month old puppy.  Don’t get me wrong, it has been a pleasure, I absolutely love spending time with her.  But I am TIRED!  I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck and flattened into the ground.  Yesterday I even stole a nap, falling asleep on the floor, I didn’t even want to drag myself to my bed.  It’s not really so much my niece, as it is the puppy. Holy cow!  She has a lot of energy.  Good thing she’s cute! AND she plays herself into a sleep coma :).

starI have been getting my runs in this week, regardless of the sleep coma I’ve been in as well.  AND, I’m happy to report they have all been pain-free! No strain or tightness in my calf muscle! I’ve been able to meet up with my running buddies and catch up on what’s been going on the past month.  This morning’s run was good therapy for me as I started it out complaining.  A good vent and a good run made a very happy girl today :).  Thanks for listening Dre!

This quote hit home with me this week:

Screen Shot 2013-06-10 at 10.04.26 AM

 

For me, this is accepting that I am still recovering.  While I feel great physically, it does NOT mean I can go full steam ahead, take off, and run 20 miles.  Upon getting clearance to run last Friday, I immediately signed myself up for the Tucson Marathon in December and for the Weimarunner 5k in 2 1/2 weeks in Des Moines.  Yeah, I guess I have a tendency to jump back in hard and fast.  I even got an email from my boss earlier this week when I sent my vacation request for December to run the marathon reminding me “to take is slow.”  I guess my A-type personality spills into my work life too. 😉  Hey, there are much worse things than being antsy and uh, motivated!

So, what’s my game plan?  I’ll train for the 5K, see how that race goes, and the assess where I’m at.  That will determine how much I take on during the month of July.  Training for Tucson will begin in August! I feel lost without a race to train for 🙂

2 thoughts on “I don’t know how they do it

Leave a Reply

