Quote of the Week

photo-75

This captures where I am at this week.  I am completely rethinking my race plan for the rest of the year.  Since I was forced to miss my last marathon and take a whole month of rest to recover from my calf strain,  I am back in the zone where I love every run!  Even those hot, humid, I want to die runs!  For me, that is what running should be.  All the time.  And I lost sight of that this spring.  Running somehow became more of a chore.  Something I had to do.  Which, is so wrong!  And, leads to the second quote that struck me this week:

“People of mediocre ability sometimes achieve outstanding success because they don’t know when to quit. Most men succeed because they are determined to.”

– George Allen, American football coach

I run because I want to.  I run because it’s fun.  Doing something because I want to and because it is something I thoroughly enjoy gives me the drive to keep doing it, to keep working to improve.  To set new goals and to push my limits.  It gives me determination.  With that determination, I’m trying to be smart as I get back into shape and ramp up my miles and incorporate speed work back into my weekly schedule.  Which, may result in backing off from running another marathon for a few months to concentrate on cross training to make me a stronger runner. My physical therapist identified my weak spots.  Now, it’s up to me to decide what I want to do about it.  I can keep on the same path as I was on before.  Working hard and not seeing any real results.  Or I can take a step back, work on areas that need improvement and enjoy the lesser weekly mileage and experience the camaraderie, the scenery, and the feel of running as I settle into a new mind sight. Hmmm… more to come!

One thought on “Quote of the Week

Leave a Reply

