USATF Championships in DSM!

So, I know I’m a little behind in getting this post out, but last weekend, I had the amazing opportunity to watch incredible athletes right here in Des Moines at the USATF World Championship Trials!  It was so inspiring and I definitely geeked out :).

While I didn’t have the opportunity to see her race, Kara Goucher posted a great recap on her race on her blog.  It’s refreshing to hear from an elite runner, like her, that goals don’t come naturally or easy for them either.  She’s such a sweetheart in how she describes her disappointment and is focusing on the next big thing already.

I was so excited to see Iowans Lolo Jones and Jenny Simpson run!  The BF was complaining the other day that he hasn’t gotten a shout out on my blog for a while.  Well, here’s a picture he took of  Lolo before the 100m Hurdle final…

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 3.50.22 PMHmmm….  I know it was bad timing that she bent over when he snapped the picture, but the fact that he kept the picture and posted it on FB is what has me wondering where his head was at… 🙂  Good timing or bad- you’re call.

This is a MUCH better picture taken of her by friend’s husband, who was actually a photographer at the event. (how cool is that!?)

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 3.55.14 PM

I have a total girl crush on her!  Jenny Simpson made the world team, finishing first in the 5K!

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 3.53.48 PM

Other favorites from the weekend include Tyson Gay running the 200m in the fastest time EVER!

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 3.52.04 PM

Galen Rupp making the team for the 5K.

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 3.56.32 PM

And Allyson Felix.  Watching these women made me seriously question why I even bother going to the track :). Holy smokes!

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 3.52.26 PM

So exciting to have been there and to host such an incredible event, right here at home at Drake Stadium!  I found this video on Flo Track’s website today and it gets me excited just to watch it- hope you enjoy the highlights as much as I do!

2 thoughts on “USATF Championships in DSM!

Leave a Reply

