Foodie Friday!

I love fresh fruit and I am loving everything that is in season right now!  I have been obsessed with cantaloupe .  Seriously, I could sit down and eat half of one in one sitting!

Looking through my fridge earlier this week, I took stock of what I needed to use up and saw 2 items: cantaloupe and prosciutto.  Perfect combination of sweet and salty 🙂  I had come across a recipe for a watermelon and prosciutto salad that I easily adapted to suit my tastes (I am not a huge watermelon fan) and to use what I already had on hand.

Serves 2 (easily adaptable for a single serving or for a large group)

Ingredients:

3 slices prosciutto, cut into small dice

1 tablespoon olive oil

8-10 fresh basil leaves

2 cups mixed baby salad greens

1/4 medium sweet onion, sliced thin

Salt and ground black pepper

1/2 fresh lime

1/2 cantaloupe, cut into cubes

Directions:

Fry prosciutto in the olive oil in a medium skillet over medium heat until prosciutto darkens and crisps up, about 5 minutes. Drain prosciutto and set aside; reserve drippings. Toss basil, salad, onion, reserved oil, and a sprinkling of salt and pepper; toss to coat. Squeeze in a couple of teaspoons of lime juice to taste; toss to coat again. Taste and adjust seasonings, adding salt, pepper, and lime juice as needed. Add salad mixture on top of cantaloupe, sprinkle prosciutto on top, and serve immediately.

cantalope saladYUM!  It did NOT disappoint 🙂  The BF literally scraped the bowl clean- I’ll take that as a sure sign of a winning dish and add this to the rotation.

We served it alongside Bacon-wrapped Sirloin and prosciutto-wrapped asparagus from the grill.  Mmmm.  A dinner heavy on bacon and prosciutto :).

steak

 

Heavenly :).  The salad was SO good, I made it again for my lunch the next day.  To make it more filling as a meal in itself, I added some mushrooms and pecan and cashew pieces.

salad lunchCheers to a GREAT weekend ahead!  I was officially cleared by my physical therapist this morning!  And, just in time to run the Weimarunner 5K tomorrow morning with my niece and Bisou :).

 

 

5 thoughts on “Foodie Friday!

Leave a Reply

