Changing Pace

I had a lot of time to think during my month off of running while I recovered from that nasty calf muscle strain, yeah, remember this?

bad ankle

 

Yikes! Thankfully, I’m back up and running now- literally! During my time of forced rest, I started to re-evaluate my running plans for the rest of this year.  My physical therapist pointed out my weak areas that could result in future injuries if I don’t take the time to properly strengthen those muscles- mainly calf and glute.  I am always so concerned with getting a higher weekly mileage in that I don’t consider any strength training or cross training because I don’t want fatigued legs to impair my daily runs.  And I’ve been training for marathon after marathon for 2 1/2 years without a break.  In hindsight, I was an injury waiting to happen and I’m lucky it wasn’t anything worse that the calf muscle strain.

I am completely changing pace and scrapping my 2013 race plan.  Something that is completely out of character for me.  And I feel so good about it!  I am not going to run as a mentor with the See-Us-Run Des Moines group and run the Des Moines Marathon with them in October.  Instead, I am taking a solid month or two and focusing on cross training.  I’m hitting my spin workouts full-out when I instruct on Mondays and Wednesdays, following each spin class with strength training.  I went to my first hot yoga class today and my plan is to go once or twice a week on an easy run day.  I’ll maintain my track workouts, with a faster time goal for each 800 than I have in the past.  My weekly mileage will be lower, much lower.  My goal is to always be “half marathon ready”.  If there is a race that sounds fun and I’m up for the challenge, I’ll enter it and run it on a whim.

My next big race is the Tucson Marathon in December.  I’ve already signed up, no excuses! I’m excited to see where I am in 5 months after taking the time to work on what I need to work on.  The change of pace is welcome and refreshing for both the body and the soul.  Cheers!

 

4 thoughts on “Changing Pace

Leave a Reply

