Improvising

This week took me back to D.C. for work. My goal, as it always is when I travel, was to keep my mileage as if I was at home.  With that, I got up INSANELY early on Tuesday morning to get a 3 1/2 mile run in before my 6am flight.  Yep, that’s right.  That means I got up at 3am.  Using the word insane was intentional.  The best part is, my crazy behavior was not only encouraged, I even had a partner in crime!  The BF had volunteered to drive me to the airport and subsequently volunteered to come and meet me for my run with both of our dogs.  Awwww.

Following the uneventful flight, the 1st of 2 days scheduled with whirlwind meetings began immediately.  My early day culminated 18 hours later when I collapsed in bed at the hotel following dinner and drinks with colleagues.

My plan was to wake up early on Wednesday and take advantage of a gorgeous trail that runs from Crystal City to Mount Vernon along the Potomac River.  It’s one of my favorite things and a perk to traveling to experience new trails and new sights in different cities.  I was pretty excited to run on this trail!

Screen Shot 2013-07-25 at 12.37.14 PM
http://www.stepwhere.com/maps/route/Crystal-City-to-the-Mt-Vernon-Trail-along-the-Potomac

So, imagine my disappointment when I talked to the front desk at 4:30am Wednesday and was told that running the trail in the dark was not recommended. Blerg!  I couldn’t stand the thought of hopping on the dreadmill after my hopes of running on a gorgeous trail, so instead I looked up one of my favorite blogs, the Blonde Ponytail and fired up 2 of her online workouts that don’t require any equipment: The Dirty 30 and My Core is Sore. I tell you what, as the day ensued as we walked a total of 3 miles up and down Constitution Avenue (me in 3 inch heels… and yes! I mapped it out to track our miles), I was regretting all those power lunges and squats!

Capitol

Alas, the plane ride back home was uneventful and I even managed to de-board the plane late last night without pulling any muscles!  After the quick trip and long days, I overslept this morning- oops! I felt like I had been hit by a bus and after “consulting” with the BF and ensuring that we could run both Saturday and Sunday during our planned weekend getaway to Kansas City, I decided to take today as a rest day.  Honestly, I feel like I’ve been hit by a bus! Already, I am looking forward to crawling into bed and falling fast and hard asleep.

Tomorrow morning, I’m lucky enough to meet my girlfriends for a 7 mile run around Grays Lake.  I can’t wait to catch up with them!

Here’s some food for thought- which one are you?  My mom got a good laugh out of it, especially when she saw the last picture- SO true! 🙂

runner

2 thoughts on “Improvising

Leave a Reply

