Redemption Run

“Don’t let others define you. Don’t let the past confine you. Take charge of your life with confidence and determination, and there are no limits on what you can do or be.” —Michael Josephson

What a fitting quote for me this morning!  After my disastrous run on Sunday, I made up my mind: eat better, sleep more, and limit adult beverages.  I’ve successfully managed to do all 3, despite attending another conference this week (this time in hot & humid Atlanta).

I’m not going to lie, I was a little bit intimidated as I set out towards Piedmont Park for my run this morning.  Would I completely fall apart mid-run again?  Would I survive the hills?  The humidity (it was already 100% humidity when I left the hotel at sunrise)?

I decided not to think, just to run.  The steady downhill the first 2 miles felt great- of course, right? 🙂  I passed the “sketchy” corner where some homeless were loitering and some were still sleeping.  I turned off of PeachTree and descended the hill that got the best of me on Sunday and entered Piedmont Park.  There were tons of runners in the park and a lot running with their pups!  It made me miss my running buddy, Bisou!  I can’t wait to be home for a stretch, get back into my routine, and run with my friends!  I wound my way through the park for just over a mile before heading back out for the 2 mile uphill climb back to the hotel.  I took the big hill on with confidence.  Halfway up, I didn’t know what got me on this hill Sunday.  It wasn’t bad at all!  Strong and Steady was my mantra and I reached the top, feeling great.  I headed back through downtown, keeping up with the steady climb.  I was breathing clear, not labored.  My legs felt fresh.  At a stoplight, I noticed the beautiful sunrise peaking up and over the tall buildings.  It really, truly was a sensational morning and I’m so lucky I get to experience the world through the eyes of a runner!

After this morning, I am feeling refreshed. I am ready to get back on my training plan.  I’m ready to institute my self-control and my self-determination.  It feels good to be back :).

Leave a Reply

