Foodie Friday: Vacation Recap

Yes, I know I’m a few days late in posting this!  I’ll blame it on the fact that I seem to still be in vacation mode.  Josh and I just spent a week in Brazil and the food I was excited to try, well, it definitely did not disappoint!

We spent 3 days in Rio.  Rio was crazy busy.  Millions of people.  And gorgeous.

IMG_0472
Copacabana Beach

While we skipped quite a few runs on our training plan, we did run along the bike path of the Copacabana Beach twice.  We also rented bikes from our hotel and biked from Copacabana to Ipanema Beach, which was very cool!  (and a little scary at times due to the masses of people!!)

Christ the Redeemer
Christ the Redeemer

After Rio, we headed to Buzios for 5 days.  In another word, PARADISE!

IMG_0526

Seriously, is this place real?!?  It was gorgeous, beyond description.  Buzios is a peninsula that is 5K with 20 beaches.  Two of the beaches are secluded and you can only access them during low tide and via trail.  Of course, we were up for the challenge :).

Trail to Virgens Beach
Trail to Virgens Beach

The hike was worth it!

Amores Beach
Amores Beach

Ok, food right?  I should just get on with it rather than reminiscing and wishing I was still in Buzios :).  The food was incredible.  What’s more, I did not get sick once.  Which is pretty incredible in itself.  I can’t say the same for the first few days back in the U.S…

First, Feijoada, a Brazilian Black Bean Stew.

Screen Shot 2013-09-28 at 10.36.32 AMBrazilians certainly know how to eat!  The food was endless at this meal.  We were served black beans, a plethora of different meats, fried manioc, and rice.  I definitely ate my weight at this meal.

Second, and perhaps my favorite meal of the trip, Moqueca, a Brazilian Seafood Stew.

IMG_0521

Did I mention that Brazilians know how to eat?  Another meal where I ate my weight :).  It was so good, I just couldn’t help myself.  Soooo good and I will be trying to replicate both of these meals in the very near future!

Last, but certainly not least, the Caipirinha.

IMG_0530

I can’t lie, I probably drank my weight too.  🙂  Although, Josh did indulge in this signature Brazilian drink more than I did :).

IMG_0528

The coffee.  The most amazing I’ve ever experienced.  Where can I buy one of these percolators?

Screen Shot 2013-09-28 at 11.46.13 AM

And, of course, since my favorite sports drink is the all natural coconut water, drinking it straight up was a must!

Screen Shot 2013-09-28 at 11.47.57 AM

Seriously, the best vacation ever!  Now, on to planning our honeymoon!  I can’t wait to see what we can book that will top this!

4 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Vacation Recap

Leave a Reply

