On the Edge

That sums up this morning’s workout of hill repeats.  I was on the edge of pushing it. I was on the edge of giving it my all.  But I held back.  I don’t know what made me do it, in hindsight, I have no answers.  Maybe I was scared I wasn’t strong enough to do it.  Preconceived notions of what I and my body is capable of.  The thing is, I knew it while I was running.  And I didn’t do anything to really kick it into gear.

Do to some unforseen circumstances, this is only the 2nd hill repeat workout I’ve tackled on my training plan for the Tucson Marathon.  I felt good after the first one.  I didn’t hit my mark, but I knew that I gave my all and it was honestly the first real hill workout I had ever attempted, so I felt proud of how close I had come to my goal pace.  Today, I’m not quite sure what happened.

Josh and I started out on our warm up to get to “the hill” we would run up and down 6 times.  As we started up “the hill” for the first time, my legs started to feel it halfway up.  Still, I wasn’t pushing it with all I had.  I felt good at the top and bounced my way back down the hill.  The second run up felt still pretty good, even though I kicked it up a notch.  The 3rd run up felt awful.  I was sure that it was our slowest time and I was determined to run the next 3  faster.  Imagine my surprise when I looked at our times later and discovered #3 was actual the fastest run up the hill all morning!  #4 was a close 2nd, which was also a surprise since I was choking on snot bubbling up in the back of my throat.   After #5, I seriously almost puked.  I settled for spitting up some phlegm. #6 was weak.  Real weak.  And yes, it was the slowest run up “the hill” all morning.  I tried to convince myself it was because it was the last run up, but when less than a quarter-mile later I felt fine, I knew that was a sorry excuse.

So, when this popped up in my email from Runner’s World this morning, it felt like it was hand-picked for me:

Screen Shot 2013-10-01 at 8.27.45 PM

 

It’s time I left those worn-out beliefs on the pavement.

Leave a Reply

