Foodie Friday

Continuing my trend on fall food this week, I set out on a little experiment, using what I had available in my kitchen: pork ribs, BBQ sauce, fresh cranberries, apples, and leeks.

I pulled out my crock pot and steamed the ribs alone with about a 1/4 cup of water to get them started cooking.  Next, I added the BBQ sauce, fresh cranberries, and leeks and let them simmer together for a few hours.

crockpot

Meanwhile, I chopped up 2 apples and heated olive oil in a pan.  Once the pan was heated, I added the chopped apples and some thyme, fennel, sage, and drizzled with about a Tablespoon of maple syrup.  Sauté the apples, turning often, for about 12-14 minutes, until soft.

Meanwhile, I took the meat from the ribs off the bones.  Once the apples are soft, add in the meat to the pan, along with the cranberries and leaks.  Toss with the apples and heat through.

photo-120

MMM!  Bonus, your house ends up smelling deliciously like fall!  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

