Foodie Friday!

This week has been as slow as a turtle for me!  I don’t know what happened, but the days just crept by.  On Tuesday, I caught myself telling people to “have a great weekend!” and then realizing, we still have a whole week to go until the weekend.  This morning, my pace run seemed to creep by just as slow.  Mile by mile.  My legs were definitely fatigued and going against 14 mph winds really, well, winded me! Thankfully, Josh and I pulled it off and finished on pace :).  THAT, my friends, is an excellent way to kick off the weekend!

This week is our highest mileage week  during our training for the Tucson Marathon, to be capped off with a 22 mile run on Sunday morning.  And, I have to say, I have been eating to satisfy a rather, “healthy” appetite.  :S  Yikes.  That phrase still makes me cringe. (see post about Josh using the phrase during our early dating stage… not what a girl wants to hear on a date! ) I’m not sure I really needed to start carb loading on Monday, but these recipes I’m sharing today were just too delish!

Chipotle Pork Chili with Apples (Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats)

Ingredients:
1lb ground pork sausage (I used Nueske’s, a Wisconsin treat!
1 Granny Smith apples
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
salt and pepper
5 Chipotle Chilies in Adobo Sauce, chopped + sauce
2 teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
15oz can tomato sauce
1 cup chicken broth
1 bay leaf
1 cinnamon stick
1 bottle Hard Cider (fermented alcoholic beverage, not the apple juice 🙂 )
photo 2

Directions: 

  1. Heat a large pan over medium-high heat then add ground pork sausage, 1 apple that’s been peeled and chopped, and shallots. Season with salt and pepper then cook until pork is no longer pink, breaking it up as it cooks. Add garlic then cook for 1 more minute. Add chopped chipotle chilies and sauce, chili powder, and cumin then stir and cook for 1 more minute.

photo 4

  1. Pour pork mixture into a large soup pot over medium heat. Add black & pinto beans, tomato sauce, chicken broth, hard cider, bay leaf, and cinnamon stick to the pot then turn heat up to high and bring chili to a boil. Reduce heat to medium then cook for 10 more minutes.

photo 5

And for the carb loading, I paired this yummy chili with Pumpkin “Cornbread” Muffins (Adapted from Real Sustenance.com)

Ingredients:
5 large eggs
1/2 cup pumpkin
2 Tablespoons of coconut palm sugar
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/2 cup arrowroot starch
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon rosemary/garlic blend
 

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray a muffin pan with olive oil pam.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine all of the ingredients and pour into muffin pan.

photo 1

  1. Bake for 30-32 minutes until firm to the touch and lightly browned on the top.photo 2

And enjoy! 🙂

photo 5

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday!

Leave a Reply

