Foodie Friday!

Last week culminated my highest mileage week during training for the Tucson Marathon- 88 miles between running and instructing spin class.

Screen Shot 2013-11-03 at 6.47.19 PM

 

I took advantage of the week and carb loaded like tomorrow was never going to happen.  One experiment, I’m happy to report, turned out SO much better than I EVER could’ve imagined!  I hope you enjoy it too!  I created a Sweet Pumpkin & Spicy Pork Pasta, using leftover Slow Cooker Pork Carnitas and some leftover canned pumpkin from making homemade Pumpkin Spice Lattes.

Sweet Pumpkin & Spicy Pork Pasta

Ingredients:

4 ounces brown rice pasta

2 ounces chicken stock

1/4 cup chopped leeks

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup 100% canned pumpkin

Dash cinnamon

1/2 cup Slow Cooker Pork Carnitas

Directions:

1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain.  Return cooked pasta to pot.
2. Add the chicken stock, pumpkin, leeks, garlic, and cinnamon to the pot with the pasta and mix together until sauce is creamy.
3. Add pork and mix together.  Serve.

photo 1

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday!

  1. 88 miles! In. A. Week.
    Holy cow that is amazing!
    I’m going to try that pasta as well. I’ll have to tweak it though and use sweet potato as I don’t like pumpkin. Don’t ask me why. I know they’re basically the same thing but for some reason pumpkin is no-go for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

