Foodie Friday!

In an attempt to get back into my normal routine, here is my Friday post!  It’s been a while since I’ve posted a “Foodie Friday” post.  Life is definitely getting crazier with the recent Tucson Marathon, now the Holidays, and the wedding in just two weeks (yay!!!).

This week, I had the pleasure of trying several new recipes and creative ideas in my kitchen with extra time off from work.  It. Was. Fabulous.  Heaven.

Both Josh and I had the 23rd off from work.  Since I still woke up to instruct spin class at 5:30am, I invited Josh over for brunch and made my first frittata… although, it was a deviated version of a frittata since I baked it instead of fried it. Really, I used up what I had in my fridge- leftover pork roast, kale, mushrooms, and peppers.  I paired it with a superfood “pancake” and topped it with a cinnamon banana sauce- which  actually turned out quite delicious! 🙂

Veggie Frittata

  • 10 eggs
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 4 tbsp coconut milk
  • 1 cp mushrooms, diced
  • 1 cup of meat of your choice (I used leftover sweet chili pork roast)
  • 1/4 cp chopped kale
  • 1/4 cp chopped peppers
  • salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, dried parsley

Preheat oven to 400.  Spray a round, shallow baking dish with nonstick cooking spray. Sauté mushrooms, peppers, and onions in a large pan.  In a smaller pan, sauté kale. In a mixing bowl, whisk together eggs & coconut milk. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper & parsley & give a final whisk. Add garlic to the large pan & continue to cook for 1-2 more minutes, until onions are translucent. Add cooked kale to the mix and lightly salt & pepper the mixture. Add chopped meat. Spread mixture even into bottom of skillet. Pour egg mixture over veggie mixture.  Place in oven and cook for 45 minutes.

Chia Coconut Pancakes

  • 6 Tbsp chia combined with 18 Tbsp water (let sit and expand for at least 20 minutes)
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 2/3 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut palm sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

Mix the chia seed mixture, coconut oil, coconut milk, vanilla and coconut sugar in a large bowl.  Add coconut flour and baking powder. Mix again until lumps are incorporated.  Scoop about a 1/4 cup of the mixture onto your hot pan to make 12 silver dollar pancakes.

To top off the pancakes, I scooped about 2 tablespoons of dairy free butter in a small pan, mixed in 2 tablespoons of maple syrup and a heavy sprinkle of cinnamon and sautéed until bananas were soft!

photo-128

 

Of course, Josh and I paired it with a grapefruit juice mimosa, because that’s us! 🙂  Cheers and have a healthy and happy Holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

