Foodie Friday

It’s back!  I figure it’s about time I buckle down and get back to blogging regularly, so here goes :).  It’s been a whirl wind month!  Josh and I got married on January 11th and jetted off to spend our honeymoon in Punta Islita, Costa Rica- aka PARADISE.

We did absolutely nothing.  And why would you, with this view from your own private garden and pool?

photo 2

More on our wedding and honeymoon later, for now, I’ll skip ahead to the food. Let me just say I am obsessed, obsessed with patacones or fried plantains.  I could eat them all day every day.  I tried to convince myself that since it was a plantain, which is healthy, this fried piece of goodness was much better for me than tortilla chips or other “junk” food in the U.S.  Nice try, huh? 🙂

photo 3MMMMM!  Each time I ordered them, I ordered a fresh dish of ceviche to pile on top of them.

photo 4

What was an unexpected treat, was that seafood is so abundant from shrimp, lobster, mahi mahi, and octopus, that it was so affordable and so so good!

photo 2

So, after a week of (over) indulging in food, wine, and cocktails, I decided I was going to take a week to “detox”.  I went on a mission to eat only healthy, highly nutritious food this week.  Coincidentally, I came down with a nasty sinus infection (again– drat!) and have had little appetite, so it’s a good thing I only ate the most nutritious meals this week and got the most out of when I actually felt like eating.  Blerg!  I ended up going in for a CT scan earlier this week for a deeper look at my sinus’ and will go in for allergy testing next week.  Hopefully we’ll solve this irritating reoccurring issue for good!

Anyways, I digress!  This week, I ate a ton of fresh (well, fresh for winter in Iowa…) produce.

photo 1

I discovered a new favorite leafy green- collards!

photo 2

I sautéed baby bella mushrooms and sweet peppers, added some rotisserie chicken, and topped with Nutritional yeast (or Brewers yeast) for a little cheese flavor and an added punch of protein!

photo 4

This is one of my go-to meals when I’m feeling a little bloated and chunky and to my surprise, Josh liked it!  I was certain that on nights I made this dish, he would choose to fend for his own, but he said it’s a keeper!  Lucky for him since I end up making it quite a bit! 🙂

I also made a huge pot of a veggie soup that promised to do miracles.  And by miracles, I mean flush fat from your body.  Yeah, I’m skeptical.  But it is tasty and it is packed full of super good for you veggies and protein!

Veggie Soup
Ingredients:
  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1″ cubes (optional, 1 medium zucchini sliced into 1″ round pieces)
  • 3 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Kosher or sea salt to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained (optional, the beans are for added protein)
  • 2 cups vegetable broth, low-sodium
  • 1 (14.5 oz.) can diced tomatoes (no salt added)
  • 4 cups baby spinach, loosely packed
Directions:
Add all ingredients, except spinach, to the slow cooker. Cover and cook on low 6 to 8 hours, or until the vegetables are tender. Add spinach, stir and continue cooking just until wilted, approximately 5 minutes. Serve and enjoy!
 
photo-129
One thought on “Foodie Friday

Leave a Reply

