Quote of the Week

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy, not on fighting the old, but on building the new.”

-Socrates

What a difference this simple concept makes!  But then, again, it’s not that simple, is it? Think about it, change is hard, because in most cases, we’re focusing on the old and what we’re letting go of, instead of focusing on the new and the possibilities that lie ahead.

2014 has been a year of big change for me!  Wedding, new house, settling into a new role as a wife, and getting used to “sharing” with a roommate (aka husband)… it’s a lot to take in!  And while all wonderful, if I’m not focused on what wonderful things these big changes will mean for my future and all of the exciting possibilities that there are to explore, it’s easy to get bogged down with how “things used to be”, you know, my comfortable life, my routine… In reality, building upon the new that lies before me is so much more exciting!

The same is true for training.  It’s hard to break through the “I can’t” that resonates through my head when I think about picking up the pace during my speed work or really digging into strength training.  But, when you set your mind to it, it’s amazing how the body will follow and continue to get stronger… building upon the new.

Leave a Reply

