A runner’s “norm”

Whew!  Up until this point, I have often wondered if my erratic thoughts each morning were a sign of some sort of disorder.  Thankfully, I came across this quote and my fears have subsided- it seems my erratic thoughts are just a “runner’s norm”:

4:30am “I hate to run, I’m going back to bed” 4:45am “well, I’m up, so I’ll get ready”… “maybe I should go back to bed” 5:00am “I’ll regret not going” 5:15am (mile 1) “I should of stayed in bed” mile 2… “oh, hey look at my pace” mile 3.…..”I need to sign up for that 10K next month” mile 4… “I’m so gonna kick arz in that race” mile 5… “I AM a running goddess” mile 6…”that was freakin’ awesome, can’t wait to get up tomorrow and do it again!” – Lou Thrash

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 12.27.56 PM

Phew!  Seriously, the mental battle nearly every morning is enough to make one go insane at times… until the endorphins finally kick in and your body remembers the sensation that keeps you coming back for more :).

Speaking of random thoughts… Bisou, my favorite running parter (apologies to the hubs!), has regained a pep in her step!  For a while, she was dragging on runs.  She would want to walk or go at a slower pace than normal for her.  She didn’t seem as excited when I pulled out my running shoes or her leash to accompany them.  I’ve come to the conclusion that is was most likely caused by 1 of 2 things.  First, the vet had been warning me she was a tad over-weight.  I brushed it off, telling myself she was muscular because we ran.  However, my dog loves to eat and would scarf down anything and everything in sight.  We’ve since gotten her nervous behavior in check and she has been dropping weight like none other!  She is a trim pup now!  Second, I noticed her paws were getting pretty beat up during every run.  She would get nasty blisters and have raw spots on the bottom of her paw pads that caused her to limp around for at least a good day afterwards.  I have been better at suiting her up in little booties before each run to protect her paws and there have been no blisters to report since!  Then, I came across this post yesterday and wondered… did my dog play me?  Was it all a farce??

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 12.28.54 PM

 

2 thoughts on “A runner’s “norm”

Leave a Reply

