Foodie Friday

photo 1

First of all, I hope you all had as fantastic of a start to your Friday as I did!  Check out this wonderful sunrise that I enjoyed this morning at Grays Lake with two of my wonderful running buddies!  Absolutely gorgeous!

photo 2

Followed up with a cup of joe in my favorite running mug :).  Artwork done by my bestest niece- that’s a portrait of me, by the way ;).

This week, the hubs and I cooked together and prepared a smokin’ good pulled pork dish with pineapple guacamole and homemade BBQ sauce!

As always, I can’t follow a recipe without adding my own modifications, so I’ll link to the originals and post what we made below.  As an added bonus, there are so many ways you can serve this dish, we enjoyed it two nights in a row and still have leftovers!

Hawaiian Pulled Pork with Pineapple Guacamole

INGREDIENTS: 

HAWAIIAN PULLED PORK

PINEAPPLE GUACAMOLE

  • 3 avocados
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • Juice of ½ lime
  • 1-2 Tbs. chopped cilantro
  • ¼ cup pineapple tidbits, drained
  • Onion powder, to taste

INSTRUCTIONS: 

  1. Rub the minced garlic and onion powder into the pork pieces and place into the bottom of a 6-quart crock pot. Add chopped pineapple, and BBQ sauce. Mix slightly then cover and cook on low for 9-12 hours, or until meat shreds easily. Shred. Pour remaining BBQ sauce into another bowl and set aside (straining out pineapple and pork pieces).
  2. Right before serving, prepare guacamole by combining avocados, garlic, lime juice, and onion powder in a bowl. Smash with a potato smasher or fork until desired consistency is reached. (I mashed 2 avocados, then chopped 1 for a chunkier dip). Fold in cilantro and pineapple tidbits.

IMG_15903. Add 2 Tablespoons tomato paste (or ketchup), 1 Tablespoon molasses, and a teaspoon each: chili powder, crushed red pepper, all spice, and paprika to the leftover BBQ sauce and heat over low to thicken.

IMG_15894. To serve as tacos: warm tortillas on a griddle, add pork, drizzle BBQ sauce on top, and garnish with a dallop of guacamole.

5. To serve as nachos: preheat oven to 450, layer tortilla chips on a pan, sprinkle with pork, BBQ sauce, shredded cheese (I used dairly free pepper jack), chopped cherry tomatoes, and bake 3-5 minutes or until cheese is bubbly.  Remove from oven, top with guacamole and serve!

IMG_1592

 

I also made a batch of plantain chips to serve as a healthy side option with the tacos, using my Excalibur Food Deyhydrator.  Hands down, one of the best “splurges” on a kitchen appliance I have made.  It’s amazing :).  Simply slice 3-4 plantains, put in a bowl, add sea salt and Mo’s Rub, gently mix so all the plantains have some spice, and lay out on the dehydrator trays.  I use a very low setting to keep them a “raw food” and it takes about 2 days for them to dry out.

IMG_1591

With that, enjoy with a tasty margarita!  Cheers, my friends!  And TGIF!!!

Leave a Reply

