Foodie Friday!

I’ve been absent from posting regularly the past few weeks, now that I’ve recovered from surgery and my appetite is nearly back to normal, I’ve been working to get reacquainted with my kitchen :).

The hubs and I joined a CSA for the first time this year and we have been enjoying our weekly boxes of fresh veggies!  I really wanted to join because I knew it would force me to try veggies that I’ve shyed away from in the past and expand my horizons.  So far… it has!

This week's CSA box
This week’s CSA box

If you’ve been following y blog, you know I love avocados!  When I found this recipe for Blackened Salmon with Mango Avocado Salsa, I knew I had to try it!  Prep was quick and easy and the outcome was absolutely delish!

Blackened Salmon Ingredients:

  • 2 small wild salmon fillets, boneless and skin on
  • 3 teaspoons melted dairy free butter or EVOO
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1½ tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • ½ tsp onion powder
  • ½ tsp oregano
  • ½ tsp cumin
  • ½ tsp chili powder
  • ½ tsp cracked pepper
  • ¼ tsp thyme
  • ¼ tsp cayenne

Mango Avocado Salsa Ingredients:

  • 1 large ripe mango, seeded, peeled and diced
  • 1 large avocado, seeded and diced
  • ¼ cup diced grape tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons diced onion (I used a sweet onion)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice

Directions:

  1. Combine the butter and all of the spices in a bowl. Rub all over both sides of the salmon. Leave at room temperature while the grill heats.
  2. Preheat a grill to medium-high heat.
  3. Meanwhile, combine the salsa ingredients together in a bowl and store in the refrigerator while the fish cooks.
  4. Sear the salmon, skinless side down first. Close the grill lid. Cook 1-3 minutes on the first side, depending on how thick the fillets are. (Try not to move them until you are going to flip them over to help keep them in one piece.)
  5. Using tongs and a metal spatula in the other hand, carefully turn the fish over, so that the skin side is down, and reduce the heat to medium. For charcoal grills, finish cooking over indirect heat furthest from the coals.
  6. Close the grill lid and finish cooking for another 5 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillets.
  7. Salmon should be just barely opaque and will start to flake along the center of the fillet when done.
  8. Serve hot with the mango-avocado salsa spooned over it.

**Disclaimer: I actually forgot the salsa in the fridge when we ate the blackened salmon!  The salmon was so good on it’s own, that we didn’t miss the salsa.  I was so disappointed that I goofed that up!  The next day, I took 2 fillets of white fish (I had sole on hand), followed the same recipe to “blacken” them and baked them in the oven until they were flaky and cooked thoroughly.  The salsa was amazing served with this fish.  In the end, it was a win-win!  We enjoyed the salmon and dressed up an otherwise plain fish :).

Blackened Salmon with Swiss Chard Saute
Blackened Salmon with Swiss Chard Saute

 

Blackened Sole with Mango Avocado Salsa
Blackened Sole with Mango Avocado Salsa

 

From our CSA box, I paired the Blackened Salmon with a tasty Swiss Chard Sautee.

Ingredients:

  • ½ lb Swiss chard
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 5-6 fresh garlic scapes (or more to taste) or 1-3 cloves minced garlic
  • Sea salt

Directions: 

Cut garlic scapes into 1” chunks. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add garlic scapes. Trim large stems from chard leaves. Cut stems into 1” pieces. Add stems to skillet. Stack chard leaves and roll into a tube. Cut into ½” strips. As scapes and stems just begin to soften, add leaves to skillet. Cook until leaves wilt. Sprinkle with salt to taste.

photo 1

Another tasty side dish that I made this week, again, courtesy of our CSA box was Turnips!  I’ve never tried turnips before and I was admittedly nervous to embark on this “adventure”.  To my wonderment, it was delicious and I am hoping we have more turnips in our box next week!

photo 1

Spring Turnips with Greens and Raisins Ingredients:

  • 2 T dairy free butter, divided
  • 2 t olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 1 bunch spring turnips and greens (about 10 small or 5 large turnips
  • about 1/4 cup raisins
  • about 1/4 cup craisins
  • salt (I used a seasoned salt variety for just a little extra flavor)

Directions:

Heat 1 T of the butter and all of the olive oil in a large skillet over medium flame. Add onions and cook, stirring often, until they begin to soften, about 5 minutes. Meanwhile, wash turnips and trim the leaves from the root. Chop the roots into 1-inch dice. Discard any yellowed turnip leaves and roughly chop the nice ones. Once the onions are softened, add the turnip roots. Sprinkle with a bit of salt, stir and cover. Cook until the turnips can be easily pierced with a knife, about 8 minutes. Uncover, turn the heat up to medium high, and cook, stirring now and then, until turnips turn light brown at the edges. Add the chopped greens and raisins and cook until the greens are wilted and tender, another 3-4 minutes. Add the remaining 1 T butter and salt to taste.

photo 3

Now mom, don’t fall off your chair as you read this- I know it’s still surprising that I eat anything but hot dogs and bologna now, I surprise myself most of the time!

photo 4

 

Leave a Reply

