Quote of the Week

You only ever grow as a human being if you’re outside your comfort zone.”- Percy Cerutty

Isn’t this the truth?  I saw this quote come through the Runner’s World feed this week and it stuck with me.  This year has definitely stretched me and I’ve grown as a result of throwing myself outside of my comfort zone.  Personally, in opening myself up to a new relationship, which resulted in marriage, all within a year!  And now, getting to know the new “norm”, establishing relationships with a new family, adjusting to life as a couple, and not being focused solely on me and my needs.

Now, I find myself outside of my comfort zone in my training.  It all came together when I buckled down and trained hard last summer and fall.  I have to admit, I was expecting to coast back into my training this summer, after taking a few months off.  That has clearly not been the case, and it is definitely throwing me out of my comfort zone. It’s challenging.  It’s hard.  I’m left questioning why I’m bothering.  But I know the reason why.  And, this quote puts it rather simply:  I will never grow unless I do.

Leave a Reply

